“25 & Blissfully Unaware I was Married to a Registered Sex Offender”

Half Pint Jules
3 min readSep 21, 2022

Stupidly blind or Naively Sheltered? How did I get here?

“I have been asked to release a statement because my ex-husband has just been very publically fired from his job as news about his criminal past is just now coming out.”

Words I never would have thought I’d be hearing from the mouth of Michel Janse-Smith, a young businesswoman I’ve been watching on YouTube for the past 6 or 7 years now.

I always thought there was something off about the seemingly quiet, conceivably shy fella that appeared in some of her videos but I always understood his demeanour to be of someone that did not love the vlogging lifestyle or care to be involved.

Just because one person chooses to share absolutely every detail about their life doesn’t mean their partner is completely on board.

But now his dodgy (excuse the pun) behaviour makes a whole lot more sense since the news of his arrest has been brought to light.

--

--

Half Pint Jules

Serial small businesser, total geek for industry talk, strung out most of the time but really, just a SAHWM with a need to talk about it.